Introduction: Me, my debt and I

Hey all!

I’m the Little Frugalista (‘Little’ because I stand at a whopping 5’1″!) and I’m new to this here personal finance world. I’ve been blogging on and off about different topics for awhile but personal finance is something I’ve been dying to get into. I’ve been reading a ton of really great PF blogs and I’ve found myself connecting to this world so much that I can’t not contribute to it. I see the relationships that have formed and I hope to one day make some new PF buddies myself!

There is so much I want to write about so in an effort to not get too ahead of myself, let me start from the beginning and tell you why I’m here. I’m a 27-year-old communications professional in Toronto. Having graduated university back in 2007, I found myself struggling to get on my feet and find a job in my chosen field of accounting. After eight months of searching (and racking up debt on top of my student loan) I gave in and went to a temp agency and quickly landed a job in accounts payable for a large manufacturer. The job, well, sucked. But it got me my next job, finally working full time for a financial services company doing investment accounting. It didn’t exactly pay the big bucks, but it allowed me to pay off all of the credit debt I accumulated over my months of unemployment and start to make a dent in my student loan of $24,000.

Everything was going quite smoothly until life happened. After a year and a half, I became incredibly fed up with my job, went through a bad breakup and decided to go back to school for public relations. A quarter life crisis of sorts. I found a great program, quit work and took three months off and headed back to the classroom. It seemed like a great idea at the time and although I don’t regret it, I regret the added debt it brought me. Coming out of my eight month program, I gained a postgraduate certificate served with a side of postgraduate debt in the form of a line of credit worth $10,000. This was on top of the $16,000 left on my OSAP (Ontario student loan). Great, happy birthday me! Here’s a grand of debt for each of your 26 years on this earth.

I am happy to say this was about eight months ago and I am no longer in that position. Even with a low paying internship, thanks to the help of a second job I was able to pay off my entire LOC during the summer months and have now brought my student down to just under 11k. This has been one of the most eye-opening years of my life and I can’t wait to share my experiences with you. Personal finance has not only become a mission for me but a way of life.

I’m so excited to be joining the PF blogosphere and thank you for stopping by!

Frugally yours,

LF

5 thoughts on “Introduction: Me, my debt and I

  1. Ahhh!!! LF, this is great! Obviously, not the debt but the fact that you have slashed it so much in such a short time and are writing a PF blog about the experience! I think this will be inspirational to a lot of ppl!

    Did you know one of my favorite shows is ‘Til Debt Do Us Part? That show scares the bejeezus out me! Can’t wait to read more of your posts!

    • Thank you! I love that show so much and it definitely motivates me to not ever be like some (most) of the people on there…the ‘before’ version of them anyway!

Leave a Reply

