New year’s resolutions

I'm perfect! Well...not quite...yet!

I’ve never been a huge fan of new year’s resolutions but with a big year coming up, I think I need to get my thoughts together and come up with some goals for the year. If they’re in writing, I’ll have to stick to them…right?!

My New Year’s Resolutions

1. Pay off my OSAP by May 1, 2012.

2. Contribute $10,000 in RRSP.

3. Save $8,000.

4. Take 2 trips. (NYC? Iceland? Visit friends on the East Coast?)

5. Take French classes and improve French language skills.

That’s about it for now. I know the money goals are a bit lofty and ambitious, but I’m hoping that my new philosophy of goal setting will provide me with the motivation I need to attain them. It looks like I won’t be able to leave my serving job but I’m okay with that. As long as I can take a few days off here and there, I think I can maintain my sanity! The way I see it, I currently gross about $45,000 a year – and that’s while interning at below minimum wage. The only way I can leave my serving job without taking a pay cut is if (and when) I gross that amount at a full time job. I am starting a new job in January but the bad news is that I will start as an intern yet again, on a minimum wage salary. Once my three month internship is complete, I am hoping I will stay on and make a decent full-time wage. We’ll see!

I’ve also recently been toying with the idea of asking for a transfer at my serving job. Right now I work at your typical family restaurant and like I said, I make decent money. BUT what if I could be making more money? There is another restaurant under the same chain as mine that’s a bit more high-end: meaning better tips. This would help me maximize the time I spend working on the weekends and would help me get a jump start on my goals for the year. On the other hand, I’m quite comfortable at my current restaurant, I like my managers and I know my job pretty well. I don’t really want the added stress of getting familiar with a new part-time job so perhaps I should just stay within my comfort zone? So indecisive I am!

Do you have any new year’s resolutions? Do you believe in new year’s resolutions?

LF

Leave a Reply

