A few great things happened today

So I’ve been super busy the past little while…okay, that isn’t entirely true. I’ve been lounging around for the past two weeks taking a break from the hustle and bustle of this past year. I became a professional lady of leisure and spent my time taking in some hot yoga classes (put to use a promotional package I bought ages ago so I was happy about that!), seeing friends and just generally being lazy before real life kicked in again. As for serving, I did not work above and beyond my regular weekend hours even though I essentially had two weeks off from my weekday grind. This was a conscious decision and I’m definitely glad I did it even though I was itching to make a bit more last-minute, year-end cash.

Right now, I’m sitting on the couch watching Seinfeld and thinking about all the really awesome things that happened today. Some money-related, some not, all awesome.

  • I started my new job. Everyone seems really great and I have a feeling I’m really going to enjoy working there. Initially I am on a three month contract but it looks like the company has a great track record for keeping interns on full time. My boss seems like the nicest man alive and he’s even going to take me for lunch on Friday! I will definitely express my interest in staying on during that time.
  • I managed to exchange a Secret Santa gift. I ended up having two SS parties and put the exact same wishlist up for each of these. Duhhh me. The list consisted of all the Seinfeld DVDs that I did not yet own and I guess I was hoping my friends would magically know which ones to get me. But alas, one of the seasons overlapped and I ended up with two shiny copies of season 6! Neither of my Santas had a receipt for me so I decided to take my chances at HMV and see if they would exchange it for me. Sure enough, not only did they exchange it, but they gave me back a $5 credit because of the price decrease. Yay!
  • I got a big payday from my part time job! As it happens, although I barely worked during my holiday, I did end up working long hours on BOTH statutory holidays. Hellooooo time and a half! In addition, I got paid for Christmas and I asked for my vacation pay to be paid out. With this fat paycheck I think my end of December (well, beginning of January but close enough) loan balance will be even lower than my goal of $8000! Happy new year indeed!
  • I will be in my third wedding party this year, and this time as the Maid of Honour! I’m honoured and ecstatic that my dear friend asked me and I can’t wait for all the wedding hooplah to begin!

Apologies for the over-usage of exclamation points. Can you tell I’m excited? Overall,  this is shaping up to be a fantastic year and I can’t wait to see what it has in store! Happy new year to everyone and I hope this year brings you everything you hoped for.

LF

Leave a Reply

