Why I dislike all-inclusive resorts

I’m sure many of you will disagree with me on this one but hear me out! Over the past few years, I’ve had the opportunity to visit two all-inclusive resorts. One was in Cuba and the other was in the Dominican Republic. I had a lovely time on each of these trips but in both cases I was left with the feeling that I could have done without them. Here are a few reasons.

Pool, beach, eat, sleep, repeat

For some people this might sound like the perfect week. For me, it is quite the snoozer when it repeats itself for 7 whole days. Perhaps I’d be okay with the shorter 3-4 day trips, but the two I have been on have been 7 whole days! Trust me, by day 3 it gets old.

Anything fun costs extra money

People love these trips because they’re ‘cheap.’ And okay, I guess they are cheap compared to a grandiose trip to Europe. But that grandiose trip to Europe is probably way more memorable and unique than lying on a beach all day everyday. Anything remotely fun (i.e. scuba diving, catamaran tours) cost an arm and leg. So congrats, you’re stuck on a resort or you pay a few extra hundred to have fun. Orrr I could just go somewhere else and have an entirely fun trip.

I’m not an alcoholic or a binge eater

People also love these trips because of the unlimited supplies of food and alcohol. First off, the drinks are sugary and watered down…yuck. Secondly, the food can be good but how much do I want to binge on? I’m a small person!

I love planning adventures

I guess it all boils down to what type of traveler you are. I recently took a trip to Costa Rica that was not an all-inclusive. Planning all of our locations and activities was half the fun! We did such a wide array of activities and saw tons of places. I crave the adventure and experience that come with planning your own unique trip.

This is just my little opinion and I can name you several people that will vehemently disagree with me. I love to travel and when I do it, I want to do just that: travel. I want to experience, explore and discover. And to me that just isn’t spending 7 days doing the same things, seeing the same things, and eating the same food.

What kind of traveler are you? Do you disagree with me? Do you hate me for saying such things about paradise?  

LF

Leave a Reply

