I’m the last person on Earth with a not-so-smart-phone

Yup, I said it. And it isn’t just me that’s saying it. The other day I was in line with a friend and showed her my “ghetto” phone. The person behind us in line just had to chime in with “Wow, that is ghetto!”. Really, random guy in line? Really? I’ve never been an early adopterwhen it comes to new technology and this here is a prime example. When did people start getting smart with their phones, like 1993? I’ve been in denial about my need for a smart phone (just like I was with DVDs, mp3 players, and just about everything else) but I’ve finally accepted that I can’t live without one. I think my moment of ultimate realization came a few months ago after I had interviewed for a job. I was out with the bf all day afterwards but since it was Friday, I was dying to write my interviewers a thank you email that day as opposed to waiting until Monday. I borrowed the bf’s smartphone to write the email. Half an hour later I checked for a response. Sure enough, I had gotten the job! This turned into a day of celebration that would not have happened without the help of a nifty smartphone. Here are a few more reasons I need a smartphone:

  • I love me some mobile uploads. Ever since the bf got his smartphone, every time we do something fun I ask him to take a pic and put it on my Facebook. Shouldn’t I be able to do this while I’m by myself too?
  • I have not reached my full Twitter potential. I need to be able to Tweet on the go and Twitpic every hilarious thing I see!
  • Desperate situations. When I’m meeting someone and don’t have their number on hand, being able to email comes in very handy.
  • Boredom-killer. Doctor’s office? Bus? Waiting in line? Nothing would beat my boredom blues like internet hilarity. (Example: I could be staring at this Barbie wedding while in line at the grocery store!)

The thing is, this little non-smart-puppy costs me about $35 a month with my Rogers contract. I know that I’ll be paying a bunch more once I get a phone with data. Plus my contract lasts until October ish. I’m thinking I can wait till next summer when the new iPhone 5 comes out. By then I’ll be in a good place to renegotiate my contract and get a good deal. From what I’ve seen online on nerd tech forums, I think the very lowest I can pay is $50-$60 per month. If I’m going to be locked into a contract in order to get a good price for my new phone, I better be getting the best deal out there! Any advice regarding this is more than welcome!

Do you have a smartphone? Is it ridiculous that I’m even asking?

LF

9 thoughts on “I’m the last person on Earth with a not-so-smart-phone

  1. I have a smartphone, but that’s because my work pays for it… and in exchange I get woken up with client calls at 5am in the morning 😉 I’m leaving to go back to grad school, and I think now a smartphone is pretty necessary because you do have to keep on top of all your emails, especially in recruiting season. I’m hoping to get a plan for under $60 a month.. not sure if that’s feasible.

    • I’m secretly jealous of people (like you!) who have their phone paid for – but then I remember that it means you guys are expected to answer emails/calls all the time! Not sure about prices in the States, but here I know under $60 is definitely feasible because I know a few people who pay around $50. I’d say ask around and if someone has a great plan, call their provider and get them to match it!

  2. I am impressed by the fact that you haven’t craved one earlier! I got my first smart phone for maybe 3-4 years ago and I was actually late compared to people around me. They used to ask me if I could show my phone. Everybody would laugh at it ( I didn’t care and had a good laugh too)
    Now I could never do without especially for the emailing and twittering. But I also recently got an iPad (present from my boss!) and I prefer using it for emailing because the screen is so much more comfortable and the iPad is still very portable.

    • If you got laughed at 3-4 years ago, imagine me now 😉 I think because I don’t have one, I don’t crave one but once I do I’ll be completely addicted, I know it! What an amazing present from your boss, btw! The girl that sits by me has one and we both love itunes games – seeing Angry Birds on her big screen made me drool – so much nicer than on my dinky iPod!

  3. I’m a total tech nerd–so my cellphone is pretty much glued to my person at all times. Thankfully, the ol’ finance works as an engineer for Bell so we get a nifty discount on our phone bills (and internet). Not to rub it in, but it definitely softens the blow.

    On the flip side, we don’t have cable. I pick my battles, and gadgets get full amnesty.

  4. Hahah this made me laugh since I remember feeling this way about 1.5 years ago. I just got my smartphone (an HTC EVO) back then and I remember how it felt not having one. I can absolutely say that it was the best purchase (and ongoing purchase through my Sprint plan) of my life! My BF (who abhorred smartphones before) is even so grateful that I dragged him into the dark side. It will be worth it 🙂

    Also, I added you to my blogroll! So happy to find new blogs, would love it if you could do the same:)

    • I’m sure it will be the best purchase of my life too! So excited!

      Adding you, love to find new blogs too!

  5. You are not the only one without a smart phone. I don’t have one and I don’t plan on getting one anytime soon. I can’t justify the high monthly bill, but I do find myself envious of my friends smart phones every once in awhile

    • Good to know there is more than one of me 🙂 I know what you mean. The bill is way too high for something I don’t really need. But yes, I get a bit of phone-envy when someone else is able to bust out the internet on a second’s notice!

Leave a Reply

