A life (and spending) update

Sorry it has been so long since I’ve updated you guys on life. I’ve been working, volunteering and generally fretting about my finances as usual πŸ™‚ Here are a few ‘one time’ expenditures I’ve made lately that are eating away at my budget!

My Photoshop class – $162Β 

This is something I’ve wanted to do for awhile as graphic design skills are definitely a bonus in my field. I’m hoping this is a sound investment in my future! My only issue now is actually getting Photoshop (for Mac) on my computer. Not sure how I will swing that as it costs an arm and a leg!

RW&Co shopping spree – $165

I went into RW on Sunday, their 30% off (!!) event looking to check out a dress I had been eyeing for a wedding. Ummm yeah. That didn’t happen (they didn’t have my size) but several other items did. I’ve also learned that my mother is the biggest enabler of them all, encouraging me to get new tank tops to replace my old tattered ones, telling me I need tops to go with my new pants, etc. I rarely shop so this was a welcome treat and I got some really cute stuff for work! My credit card is not happy but I am.

Between these two items, I am getting behind track on paying off my debt ($3k left!) by early May. I also have to pay for a wedding gift for bf and I for a friend’s wedding at the end of April. Normally each of us pays the full gift amount depend whose friend is getting married but since all the weddings this year are my friends, I’m hoping he’ll pitch in! Unfortunately I’m not yet full time at my internship so I’m getting anxious about that but I am being extended through to the end of May so I have until then to secure full time employment either there or elsewhere. I have been doing up my resume and sending it out like crazy!

In other news, I started reading the Hunger Games yesterday and should be done tonight or tomorrow on the train. I’m officially obsessed and can’t wait to see the movie this weekend! Has anyone seen it?

Hope everyone is doing well this week! Talk soon πŸ™‚

 

4 thoughts on “A life (and spending) update

  1. My mom is also a huge enabler, so I feel your pain there. Now I’m always the one teasing her for shopping all the time, hoping she’ll eventually get the hint. πŸ˜›

    Are you done the book yet!? Go see the movie this weekend! I went to the premiere last week and am going again with my family tomorrow.

    • I finished the book! I became obsessed with it so naturally consumed every waking hour (even at work, when I would be eager to leave and keep reading) and I saw it last night! So good. Agree with you that it needs more Gale. Yummy!

    • I know me too – the bf said he would loan me his fancy camera because he thinks I need a ‘hobby’ lol!

Leave a Reply

