May goals

Hope everyone is having a great start to their weekend! I sure am. I just attended a fantastic Red Hot Chili Peppers concert here in Toronto. If anyone is able to see them on their tour this year, you’re in for a real treat! This concert actually got me thinking about a few things I would like to do over the next few weeks.

Rediscover the music I love

This one stems directly from the concert. As the band played songs I knew and loved, I realized just how little I actually take the time to listen to music. Even on the subway I usually opt for a book or the Economist. Growing up I loved listening to Led Zeppelin, Radiohead, Fleetwood Mac and of course RHCP to name a few. Under the Bridge still moves me every time. Led Zeppelin IV is still my favourite album and it’s sadly collecting dust in my room.

Tweet more

When I say tweet more, I mean from my blog account. I’ve noticed that tweeting is a great way to engage with other bloggers/readers and it still isn’t something I’ve put into practice. With that I urge you, kind readers, to take a look at that Twitter sidebar riiight to the right of your screen and please follow me 🙂 I’m attempting to tweet more but with all of two followers (thanks Modest Money!) I’m doing the equivalent of having a conversation with myself. Please follow me before I become that crazy lady babbling to herself on the street!

Set a real budget

I have a blog-fession to make. I haven’t been following any sort of real budget this year *gasp*. It has worked out okay and I’ve (almost) reached my target debt payoff date but now that all my money will be mine again, it is more crucial than ever that I keep on track with new savings goals.

Sidenote: YAY I finally get to start saving!

Read more

Right now I’m reading the second Hunger Games book and I’m sorry Hunger Games lovers who may love all the book, but I kind of despise this one. Why has Katniss become so tortured and annoying? When did this become Twilight? I’m only about a third of the way through so I am hoping it gets better. I would like to read two more novels this month as well.

There you have it. Simple and perfectly attainable goals, no?

What are your goals for May? What are your thoughts on the second Hunger Games book? What are you doing this weekend? Share share share!

6 thoughts on “May goals

  1. Thanks for the mention LF. Good luck with your May goals. Lately I have been losing touch with the music I love too. My problem is that I get too distracted when I am trying to read anything. So it’s tough to have music on when I work.

    As for twitter, setup some automatic tweets via twitterfeed.com. Then make a point of tweeting your favorite posts around the web. Plus there’s all kinds of conversations you can join in if you’re following people you’re interested in.

    • Thanks for the twitter tips – I will definitely look into that and try to become more active. I used to love twitter but I have a hard time keeping up with it!

  2. Not gonna lie, I’m jealous! Chilis are the one band left in the world I want to see before they die/split up.

    Hunger Games .. god. The third is truly atrocious. If you struggled with the second, the final one will be even more painful.

    • They are so great live, definitely try and see them if you have a chance! They’re getting up there in the years so might not be touring for much longer.

      Based on the second book, not sure if I’ll even make it to the third…although I have a feeling I will because I want to see how it all ends.

  3. New Twitter follower! I have to say, I wasn’t a huge fan of the second, but the third was better. Honestly the first was my favorite.

    • Thanks Dani! I’ll be sure to follow you back. The first one consumed my life and so far the second one is not 😦 I’ll probably make it to the third just to know what happens so I’m glad you liked that one more.

Leave a Reply

