I don’t really know what I want out of blogging

As some of you have probably noticed, I’m pretty new to the whole blogging scene, having written my first post in December (I think!). I’ve really loved connecting with other bloggers and *gasp* discovering that I’m not the only one facing this whole journey out of debthood. But lately I’ve been wondering what I want out of blogging. I’ve noticed some of my favourite bloggers becoming wildly successful and it’s fantastic. They’ve put in the hard work and are beginning to see the fruits of their labour. Will I ever reach that level of awesome? Do I want to? Or am I content in my little corner of the blogosphere?

Do I want a bajillion readers each and every day? Do I want to make some money? (umm who doesn’t?!) If so, I definitely need to be doing more than what I’m doing – which is posting sporadically, commenting when I feel like and generally just not putting a ton of effort into the whole thing. When I started blogging, I did it for a few reasons:

1. I love writing and I wanted to practice.

2. I wanted to hold myself accountable for my finances.

3. I wanted to document my journey.

4. I wanted to help inspire and motivate others in debt.

5. I wanted to maybe MAYBE create a stream of passive income along the way.

For reasons 1 through 4, I think I can truck along as usual but if I DO want to create some sort of income, I will have to kick it up a few notches. I just don’t know if I’m ready to do that.

If you blog, why do you blog? What do want out of it? I’d love to know!

10 thoughts on “I don’t really know what I want out of blogging

  1. I started off for fun, and now do it because it’s become a huge part of my life. The money certainly helps, but I, in no way, make a lot off of WLGYL. I make enough to make the extra time somewhat worth it.. but it’s a lot of fun and it’s a huge part of my life now. I couldn’t fathom not blogging, and now that my blog is growing I couldn’t fathom stopping spending so much time on it!

    • Your blog is great and I’m sure its rewarding to see the work you put into it pay off! I’m not sure I am ready to put in the extra hours that you somehow add to your day. You’re a blogger superstar!

  2. I’m in the same boat as you. I’ve been blogging since January and not quite sure what I want out of it. I mean, I would love to have a huge following and connect with people everyday, but I’m just not sure how to make that happen. I’m spending so much time right now just learning all about Blogging and social media so time for writing content is slipping away. My content is all over the place as well, but my blog focuses on family and finance, so I find it hard to fit into one category or the other. Good luck figuring it out, I’m proud of you for your success in 5 months. I hope I can get there too.

    • You seem to be doing great! Its great that you’re learning so much about social media – its certainly interesting and a great hobby. I think with time you’ll develop and grow your audience. I’m finding that you definitely get what you put into it i.e. producing great content, commenting on other blogs etc. are the things that get great results. If you have the time and patience!

  3. I started blogging for a few reasons. I was just about to pay off over $95k in debt and wanted to show people how I did it, I wanted to try something different, and I was bored. I’ve also worked in the financial industry for 14 years and figured I must have learned something that I could share with the world.

    • Paying off $95 is very impressive – and I’m sure sharing your experiences have been inspiring to many!

  4. i think i stole your post. i thought by pressing the press this button at the end of the post it would push it to my reader, but when i log into my reader, it shows i’ve posted it to my blog. But when i log into my blog, its not there im not really sure what i’ve done….i wanted to save it to reference in a post of my own because i am feeling a lot of the same things. i just want to write, learn, and document our lives, but feeling like this could be more than i bargained for. anyways, sorry and thanks for writing. i ll let you know when my post is done and give you credit.

Leave a Reply

